FAQs in this section
Where can I see the list of roles that are associated with a profile?
What is a role?
How are roles and profiles related?
Does Vtiger provide a default role hierarchy?
Where do I find the list of roles for my company?
How do I create a role?
How do I give privileges to a role to assign records?
Can I move a role in the hierarchy?
How do I set privileges to a role to assign records to roles in the same hierarchy?
How do I set privileges to a role to assign records only to users with subordinate roles?
How do I restrict users from assigning records to groups?
How do I choose the groups to which users can assign records?
Is it possible to choose the groups to which a user can assign records?
What is given priority between profile and role privileges?
How can I assign privileges to a role?
How do I assign privileges directly to a role?
Can I assign privileges to a role using profile permissions?
How do I delete a role?
When deleting a role, can I transfer its ownership to any other role?
Why are only two users shown when I click Assigned To in a record?

How do I assign privileges to a role?

Privileges such as editing a record, deleting a record, viewing personal fields, etc. can be set at the profile level or role level.
Follow these steps to assign privileges to a role:
  1. Click the User Menu on the top right corner of the screen.
  2. Click the Settings button.
  3. Look for the User Management section.
  4. Select Roles.
    • You will land on the Roles page.
  5. Click on a role in the hierarchy to edit it.
  6. Go to the Privileges field.
  7. Select one of the following options:
    • Assign privileges directly to Role: This option lets you assign privileges to the role you are creating. When you select this option, the Copy privileges from and Edit privileges of this profile sections appear.
      1. Select a profile in the Copy privileges from drop-down. The privileges from the profile that you select are shown in the Edit privileges of the profile section.
      2. Choose an app (Inventory, Sales, etc.) from the Edit privileges of the profile section and click the downward arrow on it.
      3. Choose a module. Enable or disable the checkbox for View, Create, Edit, or Delete to provide or revoke the respective permissions for the module.
      4. Click the downward arrow on a module. All the fields in the module are shown in the Fields section.
      5. Move the toggle button beside a field to the left to make it invisible, center to make it read-only, or right to make it writable.
        • Note: You cannot change permissions for mandatory fields.
      6. Scroll down to the Tools section. Enable the checkbox to provide access to a tool. Disable it otherwise.
      7. Click Save.
    • Assign privileges from existing profiles: This option lets you select profiles from which you want to copy the privileges to the role. When you select this option, the Assign Profiles section appears.
      1. Click inside the text area in the Assign Profiles section. All the profiles set up in the CRM are shown.
      2. Select the profile whose privileges you want to copy.
      • Note: You can select multiple profiles here.
    1. Click Save.
Home Privacy Policy Terms of Service Security Center Policy & Legal Center
© Copyright 2021 Vtiger. All rights reserved.
Powered by Vtiger
Facebook Twitter Linkedin Youtube