Home  >   Articles   >  Settings - Personalize Module Layouts
Articles in this section

Settings - Personalize Module Layouts

Learn how to personalize record view by moving around fields and blocks, etc.
R
Ruba
3 Jan, 2024 - Updated 4 months ago
Table of Contents

Introduction

The Detail View Layout is where you can customize module layouts. Let us see how.

Creating a Custom Block

Apart from the default blocks provided in each module, you can also create new blocks according to your needs. 

Follow these steps to create a block:

  1. Log in to your CRM account.
  2. Click the User Menu on the top right corner of the screen.
  3. Click the Settings button. You will land on the Settings page.
  4. Look for the Module Management section.
  5. Click Module Layouts & Fields.
  6. Click the Detail View Layout tab.
  7. Select a module from the Select Module dropdown.
  8. Click the +Add Block button.
  9. Enter the name of the block.
  10. Select the block after which you want the new block to appear.
  11. Click Save.

Creating a Custom Field

You can also create new fields to store desired data. 

Follow these steps to create a field:

  1. Log in to your CRM account.
  2. Click the User Menu on the top right corner of the screen.
  3. Click the Settings button. You will land on the Settings page.
  4. Look for the Module Management section.
  5. Click Module Layouts & Fields.
  6. Click the Detail View Layout tab.
  7. Select a module from the Select Module dropdown.
  8. Click the +Add Custom Field button in the block where you want to create a new field.
  9. Select the field type. For example, Phone for phone number, Text for name, etc.
  10. Enter the field name under Label Name.
  11. Enter a default value for the field (optional).
  12. Set the field properties:
    1. Mandatory Field - Entering a value for the field becomes mandatory.
    2. +Quick Create - The field becomes available under Quick Create
    3. Key Field View - The field appears in the Key Fields section of a record’s Summary View.
    4. Header View - The field appears in the Header section of a contact’s Summary View.
    5. Mass Edit - You can perform a mass edit action on the field.
  13. Click Save.
 

Note

  • You can mark a field as Personally Identify or Encrypted to store the confidential information of a contact. To learn more, click here.
  • You can edit an existing field’s properties by hovering over it and clicking the Edit icon.

Rearranging Fields and Blocks

You can rearrange fields and blocks to change the layout of a record.

 

Follow these steps to rearrange fields or blocks:

  1. Log in to your CRM account.
  2. Click the User Menu on the top right corner of the screen.
  3. Click the Settings button. You will land on the Settings page.
  4. Look for the Module Management section.
  5. Click Module Layouts & Fields.
  6. Click the Detail View Layout tab.
  7. Select a module from the Select Module dropdown.
  8. Click the Ellipsis icon (six dots) beside a block or field name.
  9. Drag and drop the block or field to the position you wish.
  10. Click Save.

Hiding a Field

In situations where you want to hide a field from the CRM users, you can do it simply with a mouse click.

Follow these steps to hide a field:

  1. Log in to your CRM account.
  2. Click the User Menu on the top right corner of the screen.
  3. Click the Settings button. You will land on the Settings page.
  4. Look for the Module Management section.
  5. Click Module Layouts & Fields.
  6. Click the Detail View Layout tab.
  7. Select a module from the Select Module dropdown.
  8. Hover inside a field and click the Edit icon.
  9. Disable the Show Field toggle button. 
  10. Read the message in the dialog box and click Yes to confirm.

Tip: Enable the Show Field button to reveal the field.

Deleting a Field

Follow these steps to delete a field:

  1. Log in to your CRM account.
  2. Click the User Menu on the top right corner of the screen.
  3. Click the Settings button. You will land on the Settings page.
  4. Look for the Module Management section.
  5. Click Module Layouts & Fields.
  6. Click the Detail View Layout tab.
  7. Select a module from the Select Module dropdown.
  8. Hover over the field you want to delete and click the Delete icon.
  9. Type DELETE in the space provided and click Delete field
 

Deleting a Block

You can only delete custom blocks (blocks that you have created) in a module. Before deleting a block, you must move all its fields into another block or delete them if they’re no longer needed.

Follow these steps to delete a custom block:

  1. Log in to your CRM account.
  2. Click the User Menu on the top right corner of the screen.
  3. Click the Settings button. You will land on the Settings page.
  4. Look for the Module Management section.
  5. Click Module Layouts & Fields.
  6. Click the Detail View Layout tab.
  7. Select a module from the Select Module dropdown.
  8. Go to the block you want to delete and click Delete Custom Block.
  9. Click Yes to confirm.
Was this article helpful?
0  out of  3  found this helpful.
Comments 0
Be the first to comment
© Copyright 2023 Vtiger. All rights reserved.