Home  >   Articles   >  User Management - Groups
Articles in this section

User Management - Groups

Build a group to connect coworkers and share common sets of records.
R
Ruba
9 Mar, 2021 - Updated 1 year ago
Table of Contents

Introduction

A group is a set of users. It represents your company's teams, such as the sales team, the customer support team, etc. 

 

You can add users, groups, and roles as members of a group. 

  • Users: These are individual CRM users, referred to by their respective names. To learn more about users, click here.
  • Roles: These are user roles. For example, if Mark Hale is a user, then Sales Manager can be his role. To learn more about roles, click here.
  • Groups: A group in the CRM can be part of another group. For example, if Marketing and Blogging are two different groups, then Blogging can be a part of the Marketing group.
  • Roles and Subordinates: This option adds a role and its subordinates as group members. Consider that VP of Sales is a role, and its subordinate roles are Sales Manager and Sales Rep. When you add VP of Sales to a group, all users with that role and the roles of Sales Manager and Sales Rep become group members.
 

Tip: You can define custom sharing rules on a group and allow it to view the records of a role, a role and its subordinates, or another group. To learn more about sharing rules, click here.

Feature Availability

 

Sales / Help Desk Starter

Sales / Help Desk Professional

Sales/Help Desk Enterprise

All-in-One Professional

All-in-One Enterprise

Feature Availability

Groups

Creating a Group

You can create and manage groups only if you are an Admin user.

 

Follow these steps to create a group:

  1. Log in to your CRM account
  2. Click the User Menu on the top right corner of the CRM screen
  3. Click Settings 
  4. Look for the User Management section
  5. Select Groups
  6. Click the +Add Group button on the top right side of the page
  7. Fill out the following information:
    • Group Name: The name of the group, such as bloggers, sales team, etc.
    • Group Email: The group email address, such as bloggers@grasspods.com
      • Note: The group email is configured under Settings > Configuration > Email Settings. It is not the same as Group Mailboxes in Inbox
    • Description: A brief description of the group 
    • Group Members: The members of the group. You can add users, groups, roles, and roles and subordinates here
  8. Click Save
 

Note: To edit a group’s details, perform steps 1, 2, 3, and 4, and then hover over a group and click the Edit icon.

Assigning Records to a Group

Assigning records to a group is a simple process. In most situations, records are assigned to individual users. However, sometimes you might need to transfer them to a group.

 

For instance, if a support team member is on leave for the day, there is a chance that the customer case assigned to them will not be resolved in time. In such a situation, you can reassign the case to a group. This way, any of the available group members can pick up and resolve the case within the given time.

 

Follow these steps to assign a record to a group:

  1. Log in to your CRM account.
  2. Click the Main Menu.
  3. Select a module. 
    • For example, if you wish to assign an invoice to a group, go to Inventory > Invoices.
  4. Open the record that you want to assign to a group.
  5. You can assign the record in the following two ways:
    • From the Edit icon on the top right corner of the window.
      1. Click the Edit icon.
      2. Look for the Assigned To field in the Basic information section.
      3. Select a group from the drop-down.
    • From the Details widget on the sidebar.
      1. Click the Details widget, on the sidebar (on the right of the screen). The Basic information section opens. 
        • Note: The sidebar expands when you hover over it. 
      2. Scroll-down for the Assigned To field in the Basic information section.
      3. Select a group from the drop-down.
  6. Click Save.

Deleting a Group

Follow these steps to delete a group:

  1. Log in to your CRM account.
  2. Click the User Menu on the top right corner of the CRM screen.
  3. Click Settings.
  4. Look for the User Management section.
  5. Select Groups.
  6. Hover over the group that you want to delete.
  7. Click the Delete icon.
  8. Select another group to transfer ownership of the group being deleted. 
    • Note: It is important to transfer ownership because every record in the CRM needs to be owned by a user. 
    • By performing the steps below, you will be able to transfer all the records assigned to the group to another group. 
      1. Click the Transfer ownership To drop-down to transfer ownership.
      2. Select a user or a group.
      3. Enable the Transfer closed records checkbox if you wish to transfer closed records to another user or group.
      4. Click Save.
Was this article helpful?
1  out of  1  found this helpful.
Comments 0
Be the first to comment
© Copyright 2022 Vtiger. All rights reserved.